Racing action

Racers got four-wide through a turn. 

Wythe Raceway will host the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Food Country.

The winner of the 53-lap race will receive $10,000.

A stellar field of Super Late Models with engines that have 800 to 900 horsepower will bring the fans to their feet as the green flag waves for the start of the race.

Instead of the normal 24-car starting grid, Wythe Raceway has elected to start all Super Late Models that enter the event.

Last year the Southern Nationals had 31 Supers at Wythe and 40 cars may compete for the $40,000 purse. The smooth Wythe Raceway half-mile clay oval is liked by the drivers and the fans will see a wild, sideways on dirt over a 130 mph for 53 laps of excitement.

Now in its 14th year, a couple of familiar names are among the winners.

In 2006, Dennis Franklin took the checkered flag. Chris Madden won in both 2007 and 2008. He won again in 2013. Vic Hill claimed first in 2009, in 2012 and again in 2017. Austin Dillon took first in 2011. Jonathan Davenport won the prize in 2014. Billy Ogle Jr. claimed first in 2015. Dale McDowell raced to first in 2016 and again in 2018.

Start your day with top headlines from our News, Sports, and Opinion pages.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.